Thorns

I did say I would be with you and protect and help you.
I will give you sufficient strength, even with the thorn of depression.
Many of My servants – David, Elijah, Martin Luther and Paul Bunyan
have been subjected to the debilitating scourge of depression.
Why do you feel you should be exempt?
There are many lessons to be learned through these times.
I said I will never leave you.
I know you are tired and weary.
I will give you My strength.

 “…God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” Hebrews 13:5b (NIV)

There were a number of times, years ago, when I experienced bouts of depression. It was difficult and I did seek help from counselors and doctors. Sometimes medication worked very well but did have to be changed frequently. But through it all, God was faithful. I learned much through those difficult years which helped me later in life when I became a marriage and family therapist and counseled others. God uses all things throughout our life to help us and others.

 

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, Listening to Hear, Rose Harmer, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

