Comfort

My child, I love you!
You will always be my child no matter how old you are.
I know it is difficult to keep up with everything.
You are simply one person.
Look at my life down on earth.
I did not worry or hurry.
Sometimes my plans were disrupted because I saw the needy around Me.
Our Father in heaven gave Me the strength and power.
He will do the same for you if you but ask!

This summer my devotions centered around Gordon MacDonald’s book “Ordering Your Private World.” In the book he quotes Salvation Army evangelist Samuel Logan Brengle who also enjoyed listening when he did his devotions:

“I do a lot of listening. Prayer, you know, is not meant to be a monologue, but a dialogue. It is communion, a friendly talk. While the Lord communicates with me mainly through His Word, he gives me a great deal of comfort in a direct manner. By ‘comfort’ I do not mean …coddling, but assurance – assurance of His presence with me and His pleasure in my service. …I have to be comforted that way a great deal. I don’t just assume that God is near me and pleased with me; I must have a fresh witness daily.”

He is willing to comfort anyone who takes time to pray and listen as He speaks in that still small voice as well as His precious Word – the Bible.

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God, Jesus Cares, Listening to Hear, Rose Harmer, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

