Difficult Tasks

Do not be afraid, My child, I know this is difficult.
Anything worth doing is often hard.
I have helped you in the past and will help you now.
This walk is one of faith.
The Christian life is not for the fearful who would turn back.
Like Paul, I want you to press on.
Your work can be a joyous labor of love,
if you would allow it to be.
I do want My joy to be in you!

 Whether you are facing life threatening illnesses, a relationship problem or simply a challenging job, it is wonderful to know that the Lord will be with us. I think of Paul who wanted his “thorn in his flesh removed.” 2 Corinthians 12:9, 10 (NIV) “But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ …For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

Since God promises never to leave or forsake us, He will help our journey through difficult valleys while His Holy Spirit brings strength and courage. He does walk and talk with us.

There is an old familiar hymn called “Does Jesus Care?” This is one line: “When the days are weary, the long nights dreary, I know my Savior cares.”

About Rose Spillenaar Harmer

Rose is a retired marriage and family therapist and speaks on subjects related to prayer, spirituality, marriage and mental health. She travels throughout North America and one of her favorite subjects is "listening to God" through scripture, sermons and the still, inaudible voice of the Holy Spirit. She writes a weekly devotional called listeningtohear.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in 2 Corinthians, 2 Corinthians 012, Bible, Devotional, Spirituality, Listening to God, Jesus Cares, New Testament, Weak and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Difficult Tasks

  1. Bob Hunter says:

    Good message! It came when I was considering dropping my making of systematic theology posts on a regular basis at Open Theism. Originally I’d been making daily systematic theology posts there but recently, because of my falling behind in other activities, I lowered the number to three a week. When I continued to be behind in other activities, I considered dropping the posts entirely. However I’ve now decided to continue with them on a once a week basis. Your message reinforced my decision. Thanks.

    Like

  2. Rose Spillenaar Harmer says:

    Thanks Bob! Glad you are going to a weekly blog. I look forward to getting caught up.

    Like

Leave a comment